To Top It Off: Some Caps Never Go Out of Style

20 Nov
ali_mcgraw_html
Actor/model Ali McGraw (Love Story, among others) in a crocheted cap with attached crocheted flower–or seashell, or abstract object. This style was popular in the early 1970s. Photo from lovemark.com.

 

The picturesque hats at Kate Middleton and Prince William‘s wedding caused quite a stir in the fashion world, as UK

millinery is apt to do. In Spain, as blogger Laura of As Time Goes…Buy informs us, the hat styles worn at the races have an extensive history. Here in the States, many of us go bare-headed, unless we need safety helmets for work. The main exception is the ever-popular baseball cap.

However, as chilly weather descends on many parts of the country, those plucky canvas toppers are not likely to protect our heads from icy winds or frostbite. Despite our liberty-loving ways–does the Constitution specify freedom from hats?–catalogs and department stores still carry winter head coverings, many of which are good-looking and easy for a disabled woman or her caregiver to put on.

A Classic Shape

My favorite by far is the knit cap. Clean, classic, and available in fabrics ranging from acrylic to angora,  the head-hugging cap flatters most face shapes and stays on your head when wind speed picks up. This style also covers the ears but can be rolled back like a cuff to suit the wearer’s comfort. Knit caps pull outfits together, too–I have seen them in Phoenix recently, although our temperatures are still in the 70s–and can be worn plain or accessorized for added verve.

From Simple Decoration to Political Expression

In the early 1970s, one fun, flirty trend entailed threading a ribbon through the holes of the front edge of a crocheted cap and tying it slightly to one side.  This look still appears modern and works on women of varying ages. Fashion jewelry, a flower,  even plastic berries have decorated knit caps.  Another trend from those late-hippie years involved attaching a political-statement pin to the cap, such as “Vote for _____” or “End ______ now!” No reason socially conscious disabled women can’t pin their favorite causes or candidates’ names on their caps before going out. Unsure about adding “stuff” to your cap?  Pick your favorite color, and wear it as you like!

Head-Hugging Popularity

From the cloche of the 1920s to ski caps worn in the Olympics, it is clear that close-fitting head wear is here to stay. For disabled women, the knit cap is one classic, go-to item that requires little thought and no alterations–a major benefit when it comes to shopping for clothing and accessories! Wear yours in good health and your own sense of style!

6 Responses to “To Top It Off: Some Caps Never Go Out of Style”

  1. spashionistareport November 20, 2012 at 11:52 pm #

    Alas, I just don’t have a good “hat head”. I have one fedora and one corduroy wide brimmed – in purple, of course – that I wear in the rain. Although I don’t wear caps I just bought a grey “earwarmer” band and that is much more flattering than a cap for some reason.

    • desiburger2000 November 20, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

      I’m not sure I believe that from seeing your photos, but to each her own! I am a little nervous about trying a fedora myself! Thanks for visiting!

  2. mobilselskaber November 26, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    I have been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts on this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this website. Studying this information So i am satisfied to show that I’ve an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I came upon just what I needed. I so much undoubtedly will make certain to do not overlook this web site and give it a look regularly.

    • desiburger2000 December 4, 2012 at 6:16 am #

      That is very nice to hear…I’m glad you “stumbled upon” wefly2, and hope you’ll come back whenever you like!

  3. Sonny Wood November 29, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    My brother recommended I might like this web site. He used to be entirely right. This put up actually made my day. You cann’t believe simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks.

    • desiburger2000 December 4, 2012 at 6:14 am #

      I’m glad you found it helpful! Thanks for visiting, and I hope you enjoy future posts as well.

Leave a Reply

